Important Notes and Key points of Indian Geography

Geography of India
Location / Dimenstion and Frontiers

India Location
  • India is the Seventh Largest Country in the Worlds
  • Area Accounting for about 2.4% of total World
  • The 2nd Ranks of the world population
  • It lies in the Northern Hemisphere between       Parellels of latitude
  • It between      meridians of Longitude 
  • India is part of hte Asian Continent
  • India can be divided into 6 zones - North, South, East, West, Central and North East Zone
  • Inda has 29 States and 7 Union Territories 
  • Delhi is Head Quarters of India 
India - Dimenstions
  • Total Geography Land Area - 32,87,263 km
  • Distance from North to South - 3214 km
  • Distance from east to west - 2933 km
  • Length of Coastline - 7516.6 km
  • Lenth of Land Frontier - 15,200 km
  • Percentage of Earth's surface Covered by India - 2.4%
  • Percentage of World's Population living in India - 17.5%
India - Frontier

Frontier North: 
  • The Himalayan Range, China (Border length - 4057 km)
  • Bhutan (Border length - 699 km)
  • Nepal (Border length - 1751 km ) Separate from Tibet
  • The Siliguri Corridor, Sanwitched between the borders of Bhutan, Neepal and Banglades, Connects mainland India with the North-castern state.
  • The boundary line between India and China is called the McMahon line.
Frontier East:
  • The Chin hills and Kachin Hills, deeply forested mountains, Separate India from Myanmar or Burma to the far North-east.
  • Bengladesh is separated from India (Border length - 4096 km)  by watershed region of the Indo-Gangetic plan, the Khasi hills and Mizo hills
Frontier West: 
  • Pakistan, lies in the Punjab plain and the Thar Desert (Border lenght - 3323 km) and Afghanistan lies on the North-west (Border length - 106 km)
Frontier South: 
  • Indian ocean and Sri Lanka, Gulf of Mannar and Palk Straits separates India from Sri Lanka
International Bountaries Touching Indian States
  • China - (5 States) Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Arunachal Prades
  • Nepal - (5 states) Bihar, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim and West Bengal.
  • Bangladesh - (5 States) West Bengal, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Tripura and Assam.
  • Pakistan - (4 States) Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajanthan and Gujarat.
  • Myanmar - (4 states) Arunachal Prades, Nagaland, Manipur and Mizoram.
  • Bhutan - (4 States) West Bengal, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Assam)
  • Afghanistan - (1 State) Jammu and Kashmir - Pakistan occupied area.

Related Posts

Subscribe Our Posting